Clipping:The case for clarifying overrunning first base

From Protoball
Jump to: navigation, search
Clippings
Scroll.png


Add a Clipping
Date Saturday, February 3, 1872
Text

The amendment to section 10 Harry Wright advocates as follows:–“It is not often that a player, after overrunning the first, with the intention of returning to it, has an opportunity to run to second; it is only when there is a wild throw to, or muff by first base man. When that happens, I think the player running the bases should have the full benefit of it. Another thing I saw once or twice last season. When there had been a wild throw to first, and the player had continued on to second, there was an appeal made to the umpire that the player did not come back and touch his base. The umpire was puzzled, and it was a hard thing to decide. He could give his decision either way, as he favored one side or the other (and they all do, just a little, they can’t help it.) I think the umpires have enough, yes, too much responsibility now, without increasing it.

Source New York Clipper
Submitted by Richard Hershberger
Origin Initial Hershberger Clippings

Comments


You are not allowed to post comments.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Project
Toolbox