Clipping:Questions on the new strike rule on intentionally fouled balls

From Protoball
Jump to navigation Jump to search
19C Clippings

Add a Clipping
Date Wednesday, April 6, 1887

President Morrow [of the Southern League] submits the following questions under the new rules:

1. A batter bunts four balls; each one is called a strike. Can he run on the fourth one, and can men on bases run on either of them?

2. Suppose the bases are all filled, and he should bunt the fourth ball foul, does it force the other men on bases to run?

Our answer is this: 1. No. Each ball bunted is a dead ball, and the fourth one puts him out, no difference what becomes of it, a penalty exactly similar to that of a foul strike. No base can be run on a dead ball. Therefore, men on bases cannot run nor be forced to run on such a play. This answers both questions.

Source Sporting Life
Comment Edit with form to add a comment
Query Edit with form to add a query
Submitted by Richard Hershberger
Origin Initial Hershberger Clippings


<comments voting="Plus" />