Clipping:Clarifying the new rule, who was the last man to bat

From Protoball
Jump to: navigation, search
Clippings
Scroll.png


Add a Clipping
Date Saturday, January 18, 1879
Text

[from answers to correspondents] Suppose there are two men out an a man on a base; the fourth man goes to bat, and, say, has a strike called on him. Just about that time the man on base is put out, making three men out, according to the new rule, “that the first striker in each inning shall be the man that follows the last man at the bat.” Now, that fourth man was the last at the bat. I cannot see how he can go to the bat the next inning, and I don’t see why he should lose his turn at the bat. ... A player is not charged with having been at bat until he becomes a base-runner, or has been put out. The new rule is: “After the first inning, the first striker in each inning shall be the batsman whose name follows that of the last man at bat in the preceding inning.” Should a base-runner be third out through no act of the batsman, said batsman would be first striker next inning.

Source New York Clipper
Submitted by Richard Hershberger
Origin Initial Hershberger Clippings

Comments


You are not allowed to post comments.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Project
Toolbox