Clipping:Can the umpire leave his position?

From Protoball
Jump to: navigation, search
Clippings
Scroll.png


Add a Clipping
Date Saturday, May 31, 1879
Text

[Cincinnati vs. Troy 5/30/1879] Barnes...was also caught napping by a trick of Clapp. He was sliding to the base, when Clapp [first base] crabbed his ankle, held it fast and called for the umpire. Williams [sic: should be Wilber, the umpire] started down to the base on a run. Barnes says his foot was against the base, and he laid still; but just as the umpire came up Clapp pushed the base away, and the umpire decided out. Jim White claims the umpire had no right to leave his position.

Source ~
Submitted by Richard Hershberger
Origin Initial Hershberger Clippings

Comments


You are not allowed to post comments.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Project
Toolbox