Clipping:Batter stepping out of the box
|Add a Clipping|
|Date||Wednesday, September 11, 1889|
[from Chadwick's column] I note the fact of an illegal decision rendered by Umpire McQuaid at Boston. I say “illegal” on the basis of the report of the case which I read in the New York papers on Wednesday morning, in which it is stated that “in the ninth inning when Daily, of the Indianapolis team, went to the bat he had had two strikes called on him when he stepped away from the plate to rub his hands in the dirt. Madden saw his chance, and sent the ball straight as a die for the plate. It sailed over the spot waist high as fine a ball as any batsman could desire. Umpire McQuaid could not call it a 'ball,' for to all in the grand stand it was evident that the ball was squarely over the plate. He refused to give any decision and told Madden to pitch another ball. Daily had not asked permission to step from the plate and Madden was justified in pitching the ball. The umpir4e was bound by the rules to call it either a ball or a strike. He couldn't call it a ball and eh wouldn't call it a strike. Madden pitched another ball and that one Daily met squarely, and before Captain Kelly could return it from right field Glasscock and Hines had crossed the plate with the tieing and winning runs respectively and the game was over.” If this is a true report of the case the decision was illegal. It would open the door to an endless series of disputes to allow a batsman to do what Daily did.
|Submitted by||Richard Hershberger|
|Origin||Initial Hershberger Clippings|