Clipping:Advice for umpires to wait before calling balls

From Protoball
Jump to: navigation, search
Clippings
Scroll.png


Add a Clipping
Date Sunday, August 11, 1867
Text

Please decide the following: A player has had two strikes, and on striking at another ball delivered, the umpire calls “one ball.’Is the umpire correct? Yes; but if the umpire would wait until the balls pass the striker, this question would not arise. If the striker had hit the ball he would not have been permitted to have made a base upon it.

Source Philadelphia Sunday Mercury
Submitted by Richard Hershberger
Origin Initial Hershberger Clippings

Comments


You are not allowed to post comments.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Project
Toolbox