Clipping:A double play on a foul tip

From Protoball
Jump to: navigation, search
Clippings
Scroll.png


Add a Clipping
Date Saturday, May 6, 1876
Text

[Boston vs. Mutual 4/25/1876] [Craver on second base] In the eighth inning one of the points of play of the new rule for running the bases on foul fly-balls was practically illustrated, a double play being the result. … Treacy then hit a fly-tip and was well caught out, and, the ball being thrown to Leonard, Craver was also out, a double-play being made on the new point. In such case a foul fly is just the same as a fair fly—that is, if the ball is caught, the player running the bases can leave the base the moment the ball is caught; but he is also liable to be put out on returning on the catch, just the same as in the case of a fair fly, the ball not having to go to the pitcher. With foul-bound catches or balls it is different, the baseman being allowed to return without being put out.

Source New York Clipper
Submitted by Richard Hershberger
Origin Initial Hershberger Clippings

Comments


You are not allowed to post comments.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Project
Toolbox