Clipping:A double play on a foul tip
|Add a Clipping|
|Date||Saturday, May 6, 1876|
[Boston vs. Mutual 4/25/1876] [Craver on second base] In the eighth inning one of the points of play of the new rule for running the bases on foul fly-balls was practically illustrated, a double play being the result. … Treacy then hit a fly-tip and was well caught out, and, the ball being thrown to Leonard, Craver was also out, a double-play being made on the new point. In such case a foul fly is just the same as a fair fly—that is, if the ball is caught, the player running the bases can leave the base the moment the ball is caught; but he is also liable to be put out on returning on the catch, just the same as in the case of a fair fly, the ball not having to go to the pitcher. With foul-bound catches or balls it is different, the baseman being allowed to return without being put out.
|Source||New York Clipper|
|Submitted by||Richard Hershberger|
|Origin||Initial Hershberger Clippings|