Clipping:Warning before a called third strike 2
|Add a Clipping|
|Date||Saturday, August 26, 1876|
[from answers to correspondents] A man at the bat strikes at two fair balls, but fails to hit them. The next ball that was pitched being a fair ball, the striker was called out by the umpire without warning the striker. Is he out or not? … If on the third time of striking at the ball he failed to hit it, he was out, there being no necessity to call “good ball;” but if he did not strike at it after having two strikes called on him, then it was necessary for the umpire to call “good ball;” and give him out on the next—the fourth—fair ball, either not struck at or struck at and missed.
|Source||New York Clipper|
|Submitted by||Richard Hershberger|
|Origin||Initial Hershberger Clippings|